Canada Express Entry

Individuals and families around the world can immigrate to Canada within just a few months through the Express Entry immigration selection system. Express Entry, first introduced in 2015, has become the main driver of economic immigration to Canada and one of the most popular immigration systems globally. The Express Entry Programme is designed to assist employers and provinces to connect with applicants who have the required skills and experience to adapt and establish themselves in Canada. The Government of Canada uses this scheme to choose skilled immigrants who have a genuine interest to settle in Canada and take part in their economy as permanent residents.

Express Entry Criteria

Applicants must qualify for one of Canada’s four economic immigration programs:

  1. Federal Skilled Worker Program
  2. Federal Skilled Trades Program
  3. Canadian Experience Class
  4. Provincial Nominee Programs

For applicant’s living outside Canada, this will normally mean qualifying for either the federal skilled worker program or the federal skilled trades program.

Express Entry Programs

To qualify for the federal skilled worker program, you must have at least one-year of full time paid work experience in a skilled occupation. Skilled occupations are those jobs which are classed as managerial, technical and professional occupations under the Canadian National Occupational Classification.

You must also meet the minimum points criteria of 67 for the federal skilled worker program in order to be eligible to submit an application through the Express Entry system. This involves an assessment of your personal characteristics such as age, language ability, length of work experience, adaptability and education.


The federal skilled trades program requires an Applicant to have a minimum of two years experience in a designated skilled trade within the past five years. An applicant must have a job offer from a Canadian employer who has secured a Labour Market Impact Assessment (LMIA) or a Certificate of Qualification from a Canadian provincial authority.

To qualify for the Canadian Experience Class through the Express Entry system, an Applicant must have at least 12 months of full-time skilled work experience in Canada, in the  three years before you apply. The work must be full-time or an equivalent amount in part-time hours. Self-employment and work experience gained while you were a full-time student (such as on a co-op work term) doesn’t count under the Canadian Experience Class.

Most Provincial Nominee Programs require an Applicant to have met the Federal Skilled Worker criteria and submitted an application through the Express Entry system.  These provinces will then send notifications of interest to Applicants who meet their labour market needs. A notification of interest will enable you to apply for Provincial Nomination. If a province nominates you will be allocated an additional 600 points in the Express Entry Comprehensive Ranking System.

Express Entry Process

Once you met the criteria for one of the skilled worker programs and have filed an application through the Express Entry system you will be ranked according to CIC’s Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). The Comprehensive Ranking System is based on a 1200-point ranking system.Candidates will then be ranked against each other. The highest-ranking candidates will receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA) for permanent residence.

express entry works

Call us on 0330 058 3929 or email us at to check your eligibility for Express Entry.